Integrated building performance evaluation at Burntwood School 17.02.22

A group of academics including AHMM’s head of sustainability Dr Craig Robertson has won the CIBSE Barker Silver Medal for a paper on an integrated building performance evaluation of Burntwood School. The Barker Silver Medal is awarded for the most cited and impactful paper published in the Building Services Research and Technology (BSER&T) Journal each year.

Titled ‘Balancing energy and indoor environmental quality in a UK school’, the paper was published in BSER&T in 2020. It was authored by a multi-disciplinary team of researchers in energy, thermal comfort, indoor air quality, lighting, and acoustics at UCL’s Institute for Environmental Design and Engineering: Dr Nishesh Jain (lead author), Dr Esfand Burman, Dr Craig Robertson, Dr Samuel Stamp, Dr Clive Shrubsole, Dr Francesco Aletta, Dr Edward Barrett, Dr Tin Oberman, Prof Jian Kang, Prof Peter Raynham, Prof Dejan Mumovic and Prof Mike Davies.

The paper reported on a holistic building performance evaluation of Burntwood as a recently built school campus in London. It assessed the performance issues and inter-relationships between energy and Indoor Environment Quality (IEQ). Analysing metering and monitoring data along with feedback from the stakeholders, the study showed that if building design focuses primarily on energy, it may lead to unintended consequences for IEQ. An integrated design approach to energy and environmental performance is required to balance the intricate, and sometimes conflicting, relation between these performance objectives.

Burntwood School won the RIBA Stirling Prize in 2015. Working with UCL to understand the performance of such an important building has proved to be invaluable; the work has provided AHMM with lessons that can be applied across all future projects in design, construction and use, as well as the basis for future research.

Link Date Title Location
14.12.22 Ibex House granted planning permission date221214
14.12.22 Planning approval for No 1 Blackhorse Lane date221214
05.12.22 WAF Awards 2022 date221205
05.12.22 Gingerbread City 2022 date221205
01.12.22 FX Awards 2022 EH Smith date221201
01.12.22 AHMM school collaboration wins Architecture in Schools prize date221201
29.11.22 New London Awards 2022 Hawley Wharf 330 Gray's Inn Road 76 Southbank date221129
18.11.22 Planning consent for Lisson Grove date221118
16.11.22 AIA Central Oklahoma Design Excellence Awards Social Capital Classen16 The Well Western Gateway Elementary Wheeler Block 13 date221116
11.11.22 Brick Awards 2022 The Alder Centre date221111
07.11.22 Net zero carbon: a guide for architects date221107
02.11.22 Building Better Healthcare Awards 2022 The Alder Centre date221102
02.11.22 Building Awards 2022 Bream Street date221102
21.10.22 AIA Central States Excellence in Design Awards Flamingo Tiki date221021
20.10.22 Pre-let agreed at Lansdowne House Lansdowne House date221020
19.10.22 Planning permission for Dovercourt Road date221019
06.10.22 AT Awards shortlist 2022 University of Amsterdam date221006
06.10.22 British Homes Awards 2022 The Vincent Wimbledon House date221006
22.09.22 Planning success for 217 Harrow Road 217 Harrow Road date220922
16.09.22 Planning win for the Citizen The Citizen date220916
12.09.22 Queen Elizabeth II, 1926-2022 date220912
08.09.22 The Arc tops out date220908
08.09.22 Planning success for Southwick date220908
26.09.22 AHMM welcomes five new Architecture Foundation residents White Collar Factory date220926
07.09.22 Open House London 2022 White Collar Factory The Post Building 1 Finsbury Avenue EH Smith date220907
06.09.22 Planning approval for Angel Square date220906
23.08.22 AJ Architecture Awards 2022 shortlists White Collar Factory New Shire Hall Bream Street date220823
04.08.22 Holloway wins WAFX Award Holloway date220804
28.07.22 The Palm House at Kew The Palm House at Kew date220728
20.07.22 Google India starts on site Google India date220720
12.07.22 Cambridgeshire Council officially opens New Shire Hall New Shire Hall date220712
07.07.22 Pedelle 2022 date220707
11.07.22 WAF Awards shortlist 2022 The Alder Centre 10 Lewis Cubitt Square Tower Hamlets Town Hall Bream Street Lansdowne House 330 Gray's Inn Road Wimbledon House Holloway date220711
07.07.22 Building Utopia date220707
22.07.22 @sohoplace: first new build West End theatre in 50 years opens this autumn date220722
01.08.22 Summer School 2022 date220801
13.06.22 Special performance with young people from Chickenshed date220613
08.06.22 AHMM at London Festival of Architecture White Collar Factory Morelands date220608
07.06.22 Royal Academy Summer Exhibition 2022 Tower Hamlets Town Hall date220607
07.07.22 Planning success for West One Shopping Centre date220707
27.05.22 Church Road prize winner of the 2022 Don’t Move, Improve! Church Road date220527
25.05.22 Paul Monaghan appointed as a Mayor’s Design Advocate date220525
13.06.22 Architecture Foundation and AHMM residency programme 2022 White Collar Factory date220613
15.06.22 Applications open for AHMM Summer School 2022 date220615
23.06.22 RIBA National Awards 2022 date220623
13.05.22 The Alder Centre wins AIA UK Excellence in Design Award 2022 The Alder Centre date220513
11.05.22 Dr Craig Robertson joins the AJ’s Climate Champions podcast date220511
11.05.22 2 Ruskin Square tops out 2 Ruskin Square date220511
09.05.22 The Alder Centre shortlisted for the AIA UK Excellence in Design Awards 2022 The Alder Centre date220509
05.05.22 2022 RIBA London Award winners The Post Building Hawley Wharf Breakers Place date220505
05.05.22 Planning success for One Temple Way date220505
05.05.22 Planning approval for St Vincent Works date220505
27.04.22 Three AHMM projects shortlisted for the Building London Planning Awards 2022 The Post Building Hawley Wharf Park Central West, Elephant Park Park Central East, Elephant Park date220427
21.04.22 PLANNING APPROVAL FOR Keith House date220421
08.04.22 1 New Park Square completes at Edinburgh Park 1 New Park Square date220408
01.04.22 10 Lewis Cubitt Square opens 10 Lewis Cubitt Square date220401
31.03.22 Topping out ceremony at the Rowe The Rowe date220331
30.03.22 Housing Design Awards shortlist Leinster Avenue Cardiff Bute Street Riverside Community Living date220330
30.03.22 Planning success for Kingswear Road date220330
10.03.22 AHMM Director joins Oklahoma architects’ licensing board date220310
08.03.22 CIVIC TRUST AWARDS 2022 The Alder Centre date220308
01.03.22 2022 RIBA Regional Award shortlists announced The Post Building Two New Bailey Hawley Wharf The Vincent Breakers Place Wimbledon House date220301
18.02.22 AHMM appointed for St Mary’s Hospital redevelopment date220218
17.02.22 Integrated building performance evaluation at Burntwood School Burntwood School date220217
04.02.22 National Apprenticeships Week 2022 date220204
04.02.22 Planning permission for Boland’s Bakery in Dublin date220204
21.01.22 Cycle to MIPIM 2022 date220121
17.12.21 Alder Centre in running for MacEwen Award and Civic Trust Award date211217
02.02.22 Paul Monaghan joins The Davidson Prize judging panel date220202
02.02.22 Planning success for Cardiff Bute Street date220202